Welcome to Dr Hiroki Takahashi

This week we welcome visiting scientist Dr Hiroki Takahashi from the Nara Institute of Science and Technology to our laboratory. Hiroki will be with us for 4 months. He writes:

I’m working in Nara Institute of Science and Technology in Japan as an assistant professor of Professor Kanaya laboratory. Now I’m visiting Dr. Dov Stekel laboratory for 4 months as part of a collaboration between the University of Nottingham, the Nara Institute of Science and Technology and Osaka University, funded by BBSRC/JST.

I graduated from Kyoto University for BS and then NAIST for MS and PhD. Until now, my research topic is omics data analysis, especially based on metabolomics approach for microbes. For example, please see the following sites.

http://amdorap.sourceforge.net/

http://www.liebertonline.com/doi/abs/10.1089/omi.2010.0074

In this stay, I’m going to study about mathematical modeling of zinc regulation system in E. coli. Through this theme, I really want to know what mathematical modeling can do or not and how it can work or not.

Leave a comment